Real Madrid needed some inspiration against Kashima Antlers in Yokohama on Sunday, and that man Cristiano Ronaldo provided it yet again.
The Portuguese international was having a frustrating time of it in the Club World Cup final, but he eventually found his rhythm and shooting boots.
Having drawn his side level from the penalty spot, the Ballon d’Or winner struck this goal to ensure Real retook the lead after a Gaku Shibasaka brace had put Kashima in control as they threatened to produce a stunning upset.
Ronaldo went on to add another to seal a hat-trick to put Los Blancos well on course to securing their second Club World Cup trophy, but there was major incident prior to that which caused real controversy.
Sergio Ramos was enduring a miserable game in general, and it should have been a lot worse for the Spaniard when he should have received a second yellow for the foul below.
The referee made his way over to the Real defender with his hand in his pocket, but appeared to change his mind and spare him as Kashima were left furious that he didn’t see red.
Zinedine Zidane’s side can count themselves lucky that they weren’t reduced to 10 men, but the double from Cristiano Ronaldo in extra-time ultimately set them on their way to yet another trophy.